Saturday, 10/2/10 – Restarting and Catching Up

2 Oct

The shoulder has been much better for the last month and it appears I’ll be able to avoid surgery. So here are some photos I took during the “gap” even though I didn’t get out to shoot every day.

The first set are some of my favorites from our recent vacation in Maui. All were taken on/along Kaanapali Beach (for those who have never been there, it’s on the west shore with the islands of Lanai and Molokai across the channel). The first two were taken at dawn.

Along Kaanapali Beach - looking south

The bird landing on the tree made this image for me.

The third photo was taken right after the sun came over the top of the mountain and hit clouds over the channel. There was a small rain squall in the distance and the combination created a partial rainbow. This is my favorite scenic photo from the trip.

Walking back to the condo at the resort, early sunbeams were starting to hit the sand and the edges of tracks from both people and birds.

As I got back to the resort, the lounge chairs arranged in the grass were wet (sprinklers?). This one had a flower petal that had fallen from the tree during the night.

We were snorkeling over a reef when I saw this fellow free diving in about 20 feet of water. A few minutes later, I caught him surfacing from another dive. I was using an Olympus camera – a “Luca Brazzi” model. I named it that after I lost it the next day near this spot but in deeper water.

This is my favorite non-scenic shot from the trip. It’s our daughter and grandson. I took it just before we ate dinner outside on our last evening in Maui.

Of course, no set of Maui photos would be complete without a sunset shot.

5 Responses to “Saturday, 10/2/10 – Restarting and Catching Up”

  1. Gerry October 2, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Enjoyed the photos. Never been to Hawaii. It look
    quiet and peaceful. LOVE the pic of your grandson!
    Must be nice to have a model where you can’t go
    wrong 🙂

  2. Sarah Wischnia October 2, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    Glad to see your blog is back up! What lovely pictures of a wonderful trip to a beautiful place (sorry, but Maui conjures up a lot of adjectives!)

  3. Glenn Frey October 2, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    Welcome back. Beautiful pictures.

  4. Ellen Corliss October 4, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Beautiful shots and I love your idea of a photo per day. I agree with you…my favorite is the one with the rain squall in the distance. Reminds me of a Turner painting. Nice catch with the flower in the lounge chair. That doesn’t come about everyday. Nice eye!

  5. bet365 italia October 4, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Good day!This was a really superb post!
    I come from milan, I was luck to look for your subject in wordpress
    Also I get a lot in your theme really thank your very much i will come again

Leave a Reply

