Monday, 6-21-10 — Rub-a-Dub-Dub

21 Jun

Remember the nursery rhyme that begins “Rub-a-dub-dub, three men in a tub…”? That was what immediately popped into my mind when I saw this tub with three chairs inside sitting on the sidewalk outside “Architectural Salvage” on Kettner Blvd. in Little Italy. I got this smile on my face and had to take the picture.

Architectural Salvage is a really neat store. It used to be on India Street but moved to a bigger location with better parking. As the name suggests, they carry all sorts of things salvaged from building demolition & remodeling projects.

Inside, I saw two shelves filled with old seltzer bottles. Here are a few.

Next door is a décor & gift shop in an old house that is painted in bright colors. This mailbox and chair are on the front porch.

Finally, I have another take on an earlier photo. In my entry for June 2, 2010, I had a picture of an old, somewhat dirty, wrought iron gate at the entrance of a business. Today, the dingy white door was open, but there was no light inside. So I was able to shoot the gate against a dark background. I think I like this better than the earlier version.

One Response to “Monday, 6-21-10 — Rub-a-Dub-Dub”

  1. Sarah Wischnia June 21, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    Great day! I think you have some terrific shots here. I particularly like the one of the house – I can’t believe how vibrant the orange and blue are. I also really like how you framed the picture with just the top part of the chair. I think this is one of my favorites of this whole project so far.

Leave a Reply

