Saturday, 6-19-10 Waterfront Walk

20 Jun

Jan and I took a walk along the bay this afternoon. There is a stretch of the waterfront where a number of live-aboard sailboats are anchored. What caught my eye first about this one was the pirate flag at the stern. There was a guy sitting on deck playing bongos. What immediately came into my mind was the Jimmy Buffet song, “A Pirate Looks at Forty” and the following verse:

Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don’t thunder, there’s nothing to plunder
I’m an over-forty victim of fate
Arriving too late, arriving too late.

Now that I look at the picture, I realize he’s more likely a “Dead-head” than a “Parrot-head.” But it doesn’t change the song this photo brings to my mind.

One Response to “Saturday, 6-19-10 Waterfront Walk”

  1. Sarah Wischnia June 20, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    Awesome example of why having the text of the blog adds so much to the photos. What a perfect song connection.

Leave a Reply

