Monday, 5-24-10 – More on an Unused Door

24 May

I think our San Diego County Administration Building is beautiful. It was built in the 1930’s in a Spanish Revival style with inlaid tiles and lots of ornamentation. My posting on Saturday, 5-22-10 was shot late in the day looking in through the east door.

I went back today to see the east side of the building in morning light. I was really taken by the symmetry of the design and that’s the reason for this shot.

This is a broad, inviting and grand approach to a civic building. The problem is, you cannot go in this way. This door and the one opposite facing the waterfront, with an equally grand approach, are both locked. After I took this picture, I read, for the first time, what is carved into the façade of the building above the east door. To me, it seems to me to be in conflict the lack of access: “Good Government Demands the Intelligent Interest of Every Citizen.” I agree with that sentiment. But today, if you want access to this building, you have to use the side entrance. There is something symbolic there.

The second photo is a bit of detail from the east door’s frame. I wonder how long it’s been since anyone polished the tarnished (bronze?) stars and metalwork around this door. But I guess the thinking might be that if they’re not going to let the public use these doors anyway, why bother to keep them looking good?

One Response to “Monday, 5-24-10 – More on an Unused Door”

  1. Sarah Wischnia May 25, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    I really like the detail shot!

Leave a Reply

