Thursday, 5-20-10 –The impulse to keep looking

20 May

As I was walking along India Street today, I noticed a gumball machine on the sidewalk outside a business. I hadn’t noticed it before.

Today my daughter, Sarah, sent me the following quote: “The virtue of the camera is not the power it has to transform the photographer into an artist, but the impulse it gives him to keep on looking.”

–Brooks Atkinson,

American theater critic

That really speaks to what this “picture-a-day” project is doing for (to?) me. I feel as if I’m starting to see things that have been there along but that I didn’t see because I wasn’t looking. Finding a picture every day is more of a challenge that I expected. But, as the quote says, it is providing an impulse to keep on looking. To that point, I was going to throw away a spent Mother’s Day tulip bouquet that Sarah sent Jan. Then I looked again and saw one particular bulb that was drooping but hanging on. That’s today’s second photo.

One Response to “Thursday, 5-20-10 –The impulse to keep looking”

  1. ` May 20, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    I like both of these pictures quite a bit, but the way the light plays off the tulip and catches its edges is particularly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

