Wednesday, 5-12-10 RR xing

12 May

We live two short blocks from a railroad crossing. Because we’re close to the train station, trains and trolleys come through this part of downtown at surface street level. When the trains approach, the crossing gates come down, lights flash and bells clang. And the trains sound their horns. Some of the train drivers seem to sound the horns at full volume,  non-stop for blocks. Our condo faces in the direction of the train crossing. With certain trains, if I’m on the phone when they come thru,  the person I’m talking to can actually hear the trains – even with my windows closed. On the other hand, the train station is only a 10 – 15 minute walk, which is great when we want to take the train to LA to visit our daughter.

Today I decided to walk to the nearby crossing with my 18 – 55 mm wide angle lens on the camera. I tried some shots of the crossing barrier arms, but I wasn’t happy with them. Here are my two favorites from today. The first is of a San Diego Trolley leaving the Little Italy stop. I set the camera at a 1/20th second shutter speed with the lens at 18 mm and then panned the camera to follow the train.

The second shot came after I looked up at the crossing warning lights. I liked the way they looked.

Leave a Reply

