Saturday, February 13, 2010

24 Apr

This was “Carnivale” night in Little Italy so I went out to take some shots of the costumes. In prior years, we’ve had lots of people in very Italian costumes and beautiful masks. But tonight was different: Very few real costumes. Amy (our older daughter) was visiting and went out on India Street with me. Her theory for the lack of costumes in the crowd is that it’s Valentine’s eve — a dinner date night. My mistake was just taking the Canon PowerShot because I wanted to be unobtrusive with the photos. However, that camera is too slow for that kind of use. By the time it was able to focus, calculate exposure and recycle the flash, the shot was gone. Perhaps I should have included one of those “ruined” images. Next time I’ll take the DSLR with the flash unit. So my only decent shot from this evening is a mask in a store window.

Leave a Reply

